Areas of Practice
  • New York University School of Law, LL.M. in Taxation, 1990
  • The University of Mississippi School of Law, J.D., 1988
  • University of Mississippi, B.B.A.,1980
Bar Admissions
  • Mississippi, 1989
Court Admissions
  • 5th Cir., 1989
  • N.D. Miss., 1989
  • Tax, 1991
Robert Box, Jr.
Suite 800
190 E Capitol St
Jackson, MS 39201
601.949.4621 tel
601.949.4804 fax

Print PDF  | vCard

Bob Box is a partner in the firm's Jackson, Mississippi office and the Tax and Estates Practice Group. Bob advises clients on a broad range of corporate, partnership and individual tax matters, and also estate planning and business succession matters.

His practice involves representing companies and individuals in complex transactions as well as controversies against the Internal Revenue Service and the Mississippi Department of Revenue. He helps clients with business operations through formations, sales, and restructurings. He also has experience with the Internal Revenue Service and Mississippi Department of Revenue administrative process. 

Bob regularly represents clients, including banks and financial services companies, in connection with S corporation eligibility, election, and continued compliance. He has handled numerous complex S corporations elections for corporations with more than 100 shareholders including numerous trusts. Bob also represents developers and investors of real estate development projects including those that utilized low-income housing tax credits.   


  • Listed in The Best Lawyers in America® 2019 (Copyright 2018 by Woodward/White, Inc., Aiken, SC) in the area of Tax Law (also listed in 2018)
  • Certified Public Accountant, Mississippi
  • AV Preeminent® Peer Review Rating in Martindale-Hubbell




  • "Mississippi Corporations, Formation and Operation"
    The Harrison Company, Supplement, 2010


  • American Bar Association (Member; Forum on Affordable Housing and Community Development Law; Real Property, Trust and Estates Section; Taxation Section, Partnerships and LLCs Committee, S Corporations Committee, State and Local Taxes Committee)
  • Mississippi Bar (Member, Chairman, Taxation Section, 2000-2001)
  • Capital Area Bar Association
  • Mississippi Society of Certified Public Accountants (Membership Committee, 1993-1995; Legislation Committee, 2003-2004; Tax Committee, Chairman 2009-2010; Treasurer, 2003-2004; Mississippi Tax Institute, 2016-2018)
  • University of Mississippi Alumni Association (Member, Board of Directors, 2016-2018; Member, Central MS Ole Miss Rebel Club, President, 2013-2015; Rebel Club of Jackson, President 2009-2012)
  • Mississippi Secretary of State's Business Law Study Group (2016-2017)