Areas of Practice
  • The University of Mississippi School of Law, J.D., 1979; Business Manager, Mississippi Law Journal, 1977–1979
  • University of Mississippi, B.B.A., 1976; University Scholar
Bar Admissions
  • Mississippi, 1980
Court Admissions
  • 5th Cir., 1981
  • N.D. Miss., 1980
  • S.D. Miss., 1980
  • Tax, 1999
Stanley Smith
Suite 800
190 E Capitol St
Jackson, MS 39201
601.949.4863 tel
601.949.4638 fax

Print PDF  | vCard

Stan Smith is a partner in the firm's Business & Commercial Transactions Practice Group and practices from the firm's Jackson office. Mr. Smith applies over 30 years of experience in helping his clients obtain the governmental authorizations they need to provide or receive communications, water, sewer, gas, and electric services. Although much of Mr. Smith's practice is before the Mississippi Public Service Commission, he also handles regulatory matters in many other states. Within the communications field, Mr. Smith has represented different communications companies, including incumbent local exchange carriers, competitive local exchange carriers, long distance interexchange carriers, cable systems, wireless providers, and broadband/internet providers.

Mr. Smith has successfully represented a number of local exchange communications companies in obtaining designation as an Eligible Telecommunications Carrier (ETC) under the federal Telecommunications Act of 1996. As a designated ETC, these companies have been able to fully participate in the federal Universal Service Fund (USF), both the High Cost and Low Income programs, thus bringing revenue into their companies to be used to improve communications services to the end-user customers. Mr. Smith has handled ETC filings in most of the 50 states and in Puerto Rico. He has been a speaker on the topic of USF at national communications conventions in Denver, Las Vegas, and New Orleans.

Mr. Smith is a long time member of the Telecommunications Association of the Southeast (formerly known as the Alabama-Mississippi Telecommunications Association) where he has twice served as President of its Associate Members.

Prior to his legal career, Mr. Smith practiced accounting in the audit division of a large public accounting firm.


  • Arbitrator, American Arbitration Association (1994)
  • Listed in The Best Lawyers in America® 2018 (Copyright 2017 by Woodward/White, Inc., Aiken, SC) in the areas of Communications Law and Energy Law (listed annually since 2001)
  • Distinguished Leadership Award, American Biographical Institute
  • Mediator, American Arbitration Association (1994)
  • AV Preeminent® Peer Review Rating in Martindale-Hubbell
  • Outstanding Young Men of America




  • "Communications Issues and the Federal Communications Commission," Mississippi Municipal Attorneys Association Winter Convention, January 31, 2013
  • "Low Income Program of the Federal Universal Service Fund and the Role of the States in Eligible Telecommunications Carrier Designation," National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners Staff Subcommittee, Denver, CO, September 20, 2011


  • Alabama-Mississippi Telecommunications Association (Associate Member; Past President; Vice President, 2001–2003)
  • American Bar Association (Member, National Advisory Panel; Section of Public Utility, Communications and Transportation Law; Public Utility Law Committee, Executive Committee; Section of Administrative Law; Section of Business Law; Vice Chairman, Public Utility Law Committee, Executive Committee, 1983–1984)
  • Capitol Area Bar Association (Member, Former Chairman, Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee)
  • Community Hospital of Jackson (Member, Board of Directors, 1988–1990)
  • Mississippi Business Reporter (Editor, 2010–2011)
  • National ALEC Association/Prepaid Communication Association
  • The Mississippi Bar (Member; Section of Business Law, Chairman 2013– 2014; Vice Chair, 2012–2013; Secretary/Treasurer, 2011–2012; Section of Business, Young Lawyers Division, Vice Chairman, Child Advocacy Committee, 1988–1989; Chairman, Elections Committee, 1983–1984; Past Chairman, 2007–2008; Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee, 2005–2008)